Premier League

The Premier League, often times referred to as the English Premier League outside of England, is currently the highest division in the English football league system. Now, there are 20 clubs which compete for the top slot, and the league operates on a regulated system of promotion and relegation with the English Football League.

The Premier League operates differently to most other football leagues in England and around the world, as the league is a corporation, in which the teams act as shareholders. Seasons run between August and May of the following year, with each team playing 38 games in total over a season. Each team plays every other side in the league twice, once at their home ground and once away. The majority of all the games are played either on a Saturday or a Sunday, however sometimes there are exceptional circumstances and matches are held during the week instead. The Premier League is also unique, as it is one of the very few national leagues to host clubs from other countries; in this case, the Premier League has also hosted two Welsh teams since its inception. The league has hosted 49 different teams in total since its inception in 1992.

The competition was formed initially as the FA Premier League on the 20th of February in 1992, following the decision of the top clubs in the Football League First Division to break from the Football League, which was initially founded in 1888, and take advantage of a television deal which was considered particularly lucrative at the time. The deal would not have been able to be accepted if the teams had not formed their own division due to existing Football League rules, many of which have now been relaxed to bring further investment to the sport. The Premier League is known as one of the top leagues across Europe.